How to Activate and deactivate background update in iPhone? (2020 iPhone 12 update)

0
10
How to Activate and deactivate background update in iPhone? (2020 iPhone 12 update)
How to Activate and deactivate background update in iPhone? (2020 iPhone 12 update)

How to Activate and deactivate background update in iPhone? (2020 iPhone 12 update)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • iPhone: Switch background update on and off
  • Restrict other app permissions

In iOS, you can set whether an app is updated in the background. This option specifies whether the app should also run when it is not actively used in the foreground.

The setting can be made globally or for individual applications. If this option is activated, the app regularly requests important data. For example, WhatsApp picks up new messages in the background. However, this is associated with higher battery consumption. We’ll show you how to set up the background update, either to be kept up to date with news in your apps or to save battery.

iPhone: Switch background update on and off

If you want to switch off the background update, proceed as follows:

  1. Go to the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Open the General section .
  3. Here you will find the Background Update section .
  4. If you want to block all apps from getting new content in the background, press the entry above.
  5. Then choose whether the setting should only apply to mobile Internet, only to WiFi or to both connection types.
  6. Alternatively, you can make the setting separately for each app.
  7. To do this, tap the line with the corresponding application on the overview page.

The background update can be switched on in the same way if apps no longer work as desired. Access is required, for example, so that the Corona warning app works properly .

Restrict other app permissions

To save your data and battery, you can set up additional restrictions for apps. To do this, switch to the data protection area in the settings. Here you deactivate, for example, the location services that individual apps use to access your location or prevent certain applications from accessing the cell phone microphone or camera. Since iOS 14 you can find out whether an app accesses the corresponding components by looking at the green or orange point in the upper area of ​​the screen.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here